I’m No Longer Overweight 

I hate to break it to you but this is not an inspirational post. This is not about how I overcame my weight issues and became fit.

On the contrary, this is the very first time I admit that I’m not just slightly overweight, but I am an obese person.

And as trivial as this confession seems to be, it’s been hard for me to admit to myself first and foremost but also to my family and friends – since whenever I’m asked if I’m gaining weight, my answer always is: “no, same old same old”.

Well, that’s obviously a lie because I’m at my highest weight at the moment and lowest levels of energy. I would like to think that this is not entirely my fault because I have been trying my best to exercise regularly, eat in a healthy manner for quite some time now (at least for the past ten years).

My mother would say that a big part of it is due to my lack of determination, in addition to some minor health issues. Yes, maybe she’s right, maybe it is the case. But what I believe is that I ran out patience and lost all hope.

I know that this is not the biggest of issues, there more important things than looks and appearances but that’s not just it.

A lot of people laugh when I tell them that, but in my head, my self-image is thin and fit.

To be honest, I don’t give my weight much thought until I leave the house. And despite how many times I tell myself that I shouldn’t care what other people think, it’s just not possible to ignore people’s comments or stares. Even when the discussion is not about me, whenever the “weight” subject is mentioned, I cannot help but feel judged.

I think my least favorite moment is running into people I haven’t seen in a while because it’s usually the first thing they notice or mention:

“Oh, you’ve gained weight!” Yes, thank you, Mr. Obvious! Now that you have mentioned it and expressed yourself, I became well aware of my state.

Anyway, I’m not here to preach about people or rant or even complain really. This is just a reminder that I cannot lie to myself anymore.

I cannot pretend that I’m not bothered by my situation because as soon as this text is published, I will have to face the actual truth.

So this will count as the day I finally admitted that I am in fact fat.

I am fat and I don’t want to wake up one day, stand on the scale, weight 200 Kg and realize that it’s too late.

2 thoughts on “I’m No Longer Overweight 

  1. You’re right. You shouldn’t care about what people think. You should only care about what you think. If you’re not physically comfortable with yourself anymore, there’s no shame in asking for help. And you can do it I promise. It’s only a health matter and doesn’t have anything to do with your worth. (coming from someone who has lost over 30kgs)
    Anyway, thank you for sharing with us. It’s very brave.^_^

    Liked by 2 people

Food for your thoughts...

