Space of Endless Inspiration

Your manuscript is both good and original; but the part that is good is not original, and the part that is original is not good. – Dr. Samuel Johnson, to an aspiring writer

Hello again.
After thinking and writing about why I write (and if you haven’t read that yet, you should do that right now, right here), it was time to write about the space I write in. Keep in mind that I’m still following WordPress’ plan for a successful and engaging blog.
This suggestion seemed interesting enough, so why not?

First, I must admit that at the moment I don’t have a full-time job, I do go to work but only two or three times a week. But before you feel sorry for me, just so you know, a part of me really needed this break.
Now why am I stating this? Well, because that would explain why I’m always in bed when I’m writing on this blog (including this post).
I am under my warm sheets, my laptop on the breakfast-in-bed tray. I use an optical mouse because my mac’s trackpad is literally dying. My mouse pad is the cutest: a drawing of a cat with Sheldon Cooper’s favorite cat song. The TV is turned on – a local political talk show, to be precise. I’m not really listening to it, but somehow it makes me focus.

A couple of years back, I was studying in the US and I had to present a new writing assignment every week. For a reason I can’t explain, I was only able to write in a loud Chinese laundromat. I tried to write at home, at a café, in the subway but in vain. It didn’t work for me – not in the States at least.
Obviously it all started by accident: I was really late on my deadline and I was running out of clean clothes. So I went there, started the washing machine, sat in a quite corner, took my notebook and it was just like magic. I remember how easy it was, words and ideas were just flowing effortlessly.

Unfortunately, today, I’m 5,600 miles away from that laundromat. And until I find my next space of endless inspiration, I have to stick to my bed. But I’m sure going to a trendy coffee shop every now and then won’t hurt.


PS: We want to hear more from you and we really want to know what you want us to write (we need your ideas for an upcoming blog post). So please head to our contact page or tweet us with your suggestions.

2 thoughts on “Space of Endless Inspiration

Food for your thoughts...

